Opening Up & Brendan Brazier

My mind still races. Every single day. Obsessing over stupid things that I have no control over. At night before bed, when I wake up, in the shower, every second of every freaking day. 

Why? 

Ok, I just had to get that out. 

Funny story, last night I decided to continue on my path of relaxation. I went to yoga and set dinner up so that all Nate would have to do is to turn the burner on and let it cook. 

Problem: yoga went longer than expected and Nate went for a run. By the time he came home, the house was filled with smoke and dinner was ruined. I intended on having a delicious lentil, beet, carrot, and quinoa stew but instead I had charred lentil, beet, carrot, and quinoa not-so-stew.  

Long story short, Pearl now has a delicious smokey dog food for the rest of the week. Did you know that lentils are one of the best superfoods for dogs? Beets and carrots are also fantastic for dogs. Obviously the dog food gods were looking out for her and that is why dinner really burned 😉 

Image

This morning, I got to be a guest at Cape Coral Hospital. They had Brendan Brazier, founder of Vega, come in and speak. As I stepped into the room, there were two long tables full of vega shakers and samples. Each flavor on display in all it’s glory. I scooped up a shaker full of my favorite flavor of Vega One, Vanilla Chai. 

Image

I really love this product. In the past, I used the Vega Sport Performance Protein, but more recently, I have been into the Vega One Nutritional Shakes. They are full of nutrients and super tasty. 

On to the talk. Brendan started speaking about something that really hit home for me. He started talking about stress on the body and cortisol levels. He mentioned how when he started training, he was doing really well for the first few months, and then around month four, he started to gain body fat. He was feeling tired and having weird cravings. He had his cortisol tested and his cortisol was through the roof. 

The body on stress is a disaster waiting to happen. 

This is the disaster that I am currently wading my way through. 

Brendan gave ideas on how to reduce stress and I decided I really need to take this idea to heart. I am happy to say I am still on the right path. Lowering my exercise levels, sleeping more, and eating well. 

Image

 

 

Recipe:

Plantain Pancakes

1 VERY ripe plantain

2T coconut milk

2T coconut flour

2 egg whites and 1 whole egg

1T walnut-sunflower butter (or any nut butter…I just had made this previously)

Cinnamon to your liking 

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t baking powder

 

Blend everything in the food processor and cook in a skillet with coconut oil

NOM!

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

